French Lessons and Friendship.

Today E and I started a Music Lingua class to learn some French words/music.  This was at the advice of a fellow adoptive mom/friend who adopted a toddler from South Korea, and said that she wished she had learned some Korean songs and phrases to help soothe her when she first came home.I am not sure how soothing Baby Boy is going to find my French.  Today in class I was reminded why–when Joel and I traveled to Paris five years ago–they hated me there: I completely butcher their language.  I’m not even exaggerating a little bit.   I took Spanish for four years in high school/college and was actually quite good at it (though if you asked me to speak it to you now, I could probably only muster up the lyrics to my favorite Ricky Martin songs.  Don’t judge.  He’s awesome.)  But for some reason when I say French words or phrases, I sound like I’m making a bad attempt at my own made up language.  Today in class, the only part of any song that I mastered was the E-I-E-I-O of Old McDonald (or whetever his name is in French–I won’t even try to spell it). Hopefully after twelve weeks I’ll at least know a song or two that I can sing to Baby Boy.  If not, at least I now have a French CD to play for him (they gave us one in class).  And the lady’s voice is much better than mine anyways!

1347652996

My friend’s mom (a jewelry designer and creator) made this necklace for one of the raffle prizes in next week’s piano benefit concert.  Isn’t it gorgeous?  It is made from African trade beads and the two silver rings on each side of the heart symbolize the two children God has blessed us with.Perhaps what makes it extra special is that this friend is a fellow adoptive mama.  And we are both adopting from the DRC.  In fact, our children will “know” each other in the Congo before they come home to us.I find myself thanking God every day for the way he brought us together and continues to bring us together through this process.  Not only does this mean something so special–so unbelievably special–for our children, but it means something special for us.

I don’t really now how to say this without sounding like I’m throwing a pity party for myself, but there is something a bit lonely about going through the international adoption process.  And I feel sort of “checked out” from the world.  Distracted.  Distanced.  Estranged.  Things are happening around me but I’m not fully aware of them.  A piece of my heart and my head and myself is in the Congo.  I have two children and one of them I get to spend every moment with–and the other one is sitting in an orphanage 8,500 miles away.  But there is someone else–someone that I considered a wonderful friend even BEFORE we began this process–who understands in her heart of hearts what this feels like.

On top of the understanding that is there, it just has been so wonderful to call each other and talk incessantly about adoption without worrying that we’re driving the other person crazy.  We get to share in the ups and downs, the beyond surreal joys and overwhelming hardships and stresses, the deepest fears and hopeful dreams.  We get to share them without restraint and without judgement.  I don’t know what I would do without our (almost) daily chats!

And as if one friend in our small town wasn’t enough, there are now TWO other families in our town who are in process AT THIS MOMENT to adopt from DRC!  We’re just getting to know each other and planning some get togethers with our families.  I’m already dreaming about attending each other’s airport parties and celebrating Congo Independence Day together each year.

Isn’t God’s timing amazing?

Leave a Reply

