Girlfriends.

Since my college years (I’m leaving out high school because I’m still in the process of trying to permanently block it from my memory), God has blessed me with amazing groups of girlfriends.When I moved to Southern California to attend college, I dyed my hair blonde (to fit in) and promptly became friends with a large group of Asian and Middle Eastern girls — none of whom were blonde. All these girls were petite as could be and smokin’ hot, but I couldn’t be jealous of them because they were amazingly selfless and fun, and we had a blast together.Upon not being discovered following my college graduation (I was a drama major), I moved home to Salt Lake City and began working at Anthropologie. My group of friends was largely made up of my fellow hippie coworkers. We did things together like road trip to Las Vegas to go shopping and see copious amounts of Indie films. We loved buying clothes (thanks to a 40% off employee discount), we were all broke (gee, I wonder why) and we thought Feist and the Weepies were the greatest. We had a fabulous last hurrah together when we danced the night away at my wedding before I moved to Wisconsin, where Joel was serving as pastor.Wisconsin took me a bit longer to acclimate to, and I was convinced it would never feel like home. I was a vegetarian who hated beer and the Packers, and I wore cowgirl boots to church instead of green and “gold”. (Let’s be real, Packers fans: That ain’t gold. It’s YELLOW.) But when we left Wisconsin four years later, I wept at parting with friends. My girlfriends there had helped me transition to married life and maintain my sanity after welcoming our first child. They made Wisconsin feel like home.

And now, God has blessed me with an amazing tribe of friends in Montana. I don’t know what I would do without these girls. They are unbelievably supportive and encouraging, they make me laugh until my face hurts and let me cry the ugly cry without feeling ugly. They are real and down-to-earth and I feel comfortable being myself with them.

girlfriends

(Enjoying a celebration with some friends on the anniversary of my 29th birthday. Also: Two of my best girlfriends were not in the original picture and promptly requested that I photoshop them in. Like a good friend, I honored their request.)
I love how Solomon describes friendship in Ecclesiastes:“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor:
If either of them falls down, one can help the other up.
But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up.
Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
But how can one keep warm alone?
Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves.
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

I’m so grateful to the friends
Who have picked me up when I’ve fallen down.
Who have warmed my heart when I was lonely.
Who have given me strength when I was weak.
Who have reminded me of my Jesus, who keeps me from breaking.To my girlfriends — you ROCK!
Trackbacks

  1. […] shared my thankfulness for the girlfriends in my life and what I’ve learned about adoption six months after the […]

Leave a Reply

