Train Up a Child Month Three: A Food Drive Inspired By Children’s Books

September is Hunger Action Month. Anyone who reads this blog knows that hunger is something that has really impacted our family. Having adopted a baby from Congo who was extremely malnourished, I can attest to the long-lasting developmental and emotional affects that hunger can have.But you don’t have to travel to Congo or even Africa to see the affects of hunger. Here in our own backyard, there is an estimated 14.5% of households who are food insecure.For our Train Up A Child Challenge this month, we decided to do something for our local food bank. We were inspired by an idea I saw on Pinterest for our “food drive” (I use this term loosely as Yaya and I were the only ones involved in said “food drive”):
fooddrive

We began our project about a week ago by reading some of our favorite food-themed books:
IMG_6354

I read the books aloud to both kids. Ironically, Baby Boy pretty much won’t sit still unless he’s eating in his high chair. So while he snacked, Yaya helped me make a list of all the foods in the books as I read.
IMG_6355

Today I headed to the grocery store with Yaya and our food list. (Since Baby Boy is still struggling with the emotional part of food, grocery stores are a recipe for disaster. Yaya and I did this part of the project alone.)On our way to the store we talked about hunger and how it affected her own brother. I let her know that even kids in Montana suffer from hunger, and that some families don’t have enough money to buy food — and especially not healthy food.Most of our items from the books were fresh produce items. I read the items to Yaya as she made her way down the aisles and filled our cart. (I’m sure I didn’t look at all like a weirdo, snapping pictures of my daughter putting melon in the cart with my cell phone as though it was some kind of momentous occasion.)
IMG_1589 IMG_1585
We loaded everything up in the car and drove it to the food bank. (Don’t mind my plastic bags. It’s Hunger Action month, not Earth Day, okay?)
IMG_6418

After we delivered the goods to the food bank, I asked the volunteer if he would mind giving us a little tour. I envisioned Yaya being fascinated by the way they had it set up in the warehouse — like a grocery store so that the people could come and “shop” in the food bank for what they actually need instead of being subjected to canned beets and olives. But instead she pretended to be a cat and proceeded to meow quietly and LICK ME.Ah well. I actually learned quite a bit from the tour and fell even more in love with our local food bank. They have gardens set up where they grow produce for families. And, to prevent dependency, families are only allowed to come shop at the food bank every thirty days and to pick up 5 days worth of food at a time. I found the whole set up to be quite brilliant.Well, there you have it — our third month of service projects with the kiddos. How about you?  Did you participate in anything this month that you’d like to share?
train up challenge
Leave a Reply

