Sign Up to Review A Book!

Remember a few weeks ago, when I shared a new upcoming feature on the blog?

bookreports

I’m hoping to get it up and running very soon into the New Year, and I’ve made it super easy to sign up for a book review (no small feat for this technology-challenged blogger)! All you have to do is CLICK HERE, which will direct you to a submission form where you can write your review. (Or, you can go to the homepage of my blog and click the BOOK REVIEW SUBMISSIONS tab.)

I’ve found that as a transracial, adoptive family, it is difficult to find resources for good books that pertain to these topics. My goal with this new feature is to become a resource for families who are seeking out this type of children’s literature, and in doing so — to also promote more cultural awareness among families of all types. I truly believe that reading books about diversity and adoption with our kids teaches them to think more compassionately and helps them to learn appreciation for other cultures and the different ways families are made.

I would love for YOU to participate. I’ve set really loose guidelines and made it super easy to submit a review in the hopes that it will encourage you to review a book! Here’s what you need to do:

-Pick a book that focuses on or celebrates race, adoption or cultural awareness.

-Read the book to your child — or if you’re not a parent, read the book with a child in your life!

Fill out the submission form, summarizing the book a bit and letting blog readers know what you liked and/or didn’t like about the book. You don’t need to be overly wordy or in depth — a concise and resourceful review is all I’m looking for!

-Ask your child if he/she has any thoughts or feedback on the book and share those as well.

That’s it. So long as you don’t put anything scandalous or inappropriate in your review, I promise you that it will be published on this blog on an upcoming Tuesday feature (I’ll publish reviews in the order in which they are received.)

If you’re a blogger, I will also promote your blog by linking up to it within the post.

I hope you’ll participate in this new project of mine and, in doing so, become a resource to so many others who are looking to increase and promote diversity in the lives of their children!

Comments

  1. Hi! This is Erik. Do you want the book to be picture books for younger kids or can it be an older kid book?

  2. Thanks for sharing such a great idea!

  3. Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews says:

    This is a great idea! I will consider taking part in February. I’ve written it down in my calendar. Thanks for sharing this initiative in the Kid Lit Blog Hop. 🙂

  4. What an amazing idea! Thanks for sharing this with the Kid Lit Blog Hop!

Leave a Reply

