Multicultural Children’s Book Day: Celebrating Diversity in Children’s Literature.

You guys know how passionate I am about raising kids who are globally-minded citizens.

That’s why I am stoked to team up with an amazing group of bloggers for Multicultural Children’s Book Day.

Pinterest collage

As we began to educate ourselves on becoming a transracial family when we set out to adopt from Africa, I became grossly aware that the vast collection of books we possessed was not very diverse in the characters and cultures represented. Despite census data that shows 37% of the US population consists of people of color, only 10% of children’s books published have diversity content. Since my come-to-Jesus moment in our own home library, I’ve been passionate about creating a collection of literature for my children that represents and celebrates diversity.

So I was super excited to be a book reviewer for this event.

Author Stephen Hodges sent us a copy of his book The Magic Poof, a silly tale inspired by his own wife’s hair.

61RsoPUIqVL._SX258_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_

This fun story is about Ange-Marie and her magical hair. The Poof is a mischievous ball of hair that sits upon her head and takes the form of many different shapes throughout the book. Yaya giggled out loud at the dynamic pictures, as the Poof and Ange-Marie go back and forth about whether or not her hair should be its silly self on picture day, or behave and keep their secret.

This book has quickly become a favorite of Yaya’s, who even excitedly showed it to a piano student when she came in for a lesson yesterday (“LOOK at this hair!”), and was the jumping off point to a discussion about differences — particularly differences in hair.

We created a “hair” sensory bin, filled with yarn, cotton balls and feathers.IMG_7011

As we dug our hands into the bin and noticed the different textures, we compared the texture and feel of our own hair to the objects in the bin. We decided Baby Boy’s hair felt like the cotton, Yaya’s like the feathers, and mine like the yarn. photo 3 (6)

We also had fun looking through the used magazines at the library. Yaya selected pictures of all different kinds of people from a variety of ethnicities (and therefore, with all different types of hair) and created this Hair Collage:IMG_7012

Be sure to follow my Facebook page, where I’ll be sharing many of the book reviews for this event, and check out the full list of fabulous bloggers who are participating, so that you can learn of new books to help expand your child’s library and world!

A word of thanks to the sponsors of this event and for helping promote diversity in children’s literature. Wisdom Tales Press, Lee & LowBooks, Chronicle Books, and Susan Daniel Fayad: Author of My Grandfather’sMasbaha and to the co-creators of the Multicultural Children’s Book Day: Celebrating Diversity in Children’s Literature event Mia Wenjen from Pragmatic Mom and Valarie Budayr from Jump Into a Book/Audrey Press

Comments

  1. snacksformax says:

    Fantastic projects!

  2. This sounds like a cute book 🙂
    Thanks for sharing diversity!
    XOXO

  3. teachingyoungchildren says:

    Magic Poof sounds like a wonderful book! I love how you tied it with a sensory bin!

  4. A double thank you for joining us for Multicultural Children’s Book Day AND for linking up to the Kid Lit Blog Hop! I loved how you explored different kinds of hair using The Magic Poof! I think that’s wonderful for girls to realize that all different types of hair are beautiful!

  5. Love this!!!!! my son is mixed and i love seeing people who acknowledge this in our world today. ❤

  6. this was great. thank you for bringing attention to the fact that hair is very different in a way that little ones can understand.

  7. stanleyandkatrina says:

    Wow? Where was this blog when I was homeschooling my daughter five years ago. I adore your sensory activities and the collage of different hair styles. Well done all around! Thanks for sharing your review.
    Christine/Cool Mom
    for The Stanley & Katrina Gang

  8. lisarenee25 says:

    Honestly, I think everyone needs to read this book. Hair differences are so apparent in young children – seriously. People describe African American hair as fuzzy, puffy – and whatever. It’s like, it’s really curly – get over it. It’s hair. Why does it matter?

    Sheesh.

    Thanks for this great review! I am pinning so I remember to read this book. It sounds very funny.

    • stanleyandkatrina says:

      LOL. Lisa, was your comment supposed to make me giggle? I love it. “Get over it. It’s hair. Why does it matter?” I think you need a post titled that. 🙂
      ~Christine

    • HAH! Love it. (If I had a dime for every time a perfect stranger asked to rub my African American son’s head….)

  9. What a neat idea with the sensory bin – and a great book to read.

  10. I love your sensory activity! I’ve heard of this book but I haven’t read it yet. It looks like a good one!
    Thanks for sharing this with the Kid Lit Blog Hop!

  11. This sounds like a really cute book! I love the cover and your activity! 😀

  12. It looks like you had lots of fun with your sensory activities. Hopping over from the kidlit bloghop.

  13. I got sent here by the blog hop. I’ve never heard of this book, but I’m always looking for good multi-cultural children’s books. They were some of my favorites growing up.

  14. Jennifer Fischer says:

    We love The Magic Poof too. I really love your sensory bin – what fun!

  15. this looks like a fun book. i love the follow up activities too. thanks for sharing.

  16. We are big fans of The Magic Poof here too! I love the activities you used to extend the story – the sensory bin was an awesome idea!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Days of Motherhood · A Bilingual Baby · A Library Mama · A Simple Life, Really? · Africa to America · After School for Smarty Pants · All Done Monkey · Andi’s Kids Books · Anita Brown […]

  2. […] 365 Days of Motherhood · A Bilingual Baby · A Simple Life, Really? · Africa to America · After School for Smarty Pants · All Done Monkey · Andi’s Kids Books · Anita Brown […]

  3. […] Bilingual Baby · Africa to America · After School Smarty Pants · All Done Monkey · Chasing The Donkey · Crafty Moms Share · […]

Leave a Reply

